Niners Recap: Niners VS Chiefs

By Niner Faithful

Football is back!!!!! This means that I can start breaking down players. In this week’s blog I am going over the Niners 2017 Preseason opener a 27-17 come from behind victory vs. the Chiefs at Arrowhead Stadium.

Rashard Robinson: After getting burned on the first play from scrimmage and missing a tackle on 3rd down that allowed the Chiefs to convert. Robinson recovered nicely on the next drive coming up with a nice 1 on 1 run stop. He also stood out on the next play taking advantage of the pressure that first round pick Solomon Thomas applied and picked off a pass and returned it 30 yards to set up the Niners offense in nice field position.

Solomon Thomas: In his first game action the 3rd overall pick had 20 rush snaps (9 from the edge 8 over tackle and 3 from inside) and produced 1 QB hit, 2 QB hurries and pressured a QB in to a pick. In 7 run snaps he had 2 run stops and 2 tackles. Now some of that production did come against guys that in a week will be driving UPS trucks, but to say that I wasn’t excited at what I saw would be a lie. I think you could see some flashes already and he’s only going to get better.

Reuben Foster: The Niners second of two first round picks this year didn’t disappoint. He played 27 defensive snaps and was credited with 2 tackles and a PBU. He was around the ball all game long. Even almost picking off a ball in the end zone.  He played both the Will and Mike linebacker and had 1 special teams snap showing he will do whatever it takes to be on the field.

Matt Barkley: Matt Barkley took over for Brain Hoyer after the started went 3 and out on their first 2 series. He played 35 snaps going 10/17 168 yards and no TD he was sacked once and had a QBR of 92.3. He moved the offense nicely between the 2o’s but was unable to put it in the end zone on two occasions. He’s experience may have helped him be the number 2 thus far but with CJ Beathard’s strong game it will take more than that.

CJ Beathard: Speaking of CJ Beathard the 3 round pick out of Iowa started off slow with he’s first 3 drives ending in punts. You could tell he was nervous, but as the game progressed you could see that he became more and more comfortable. Beathard got the most snaps out of any of the Quarterbacks at 41(Hoyer got 7 and Barkly got 35). And with the Niners down 17-9 he lead a 5 play 67 yard TD drive that ended when Beathard side stepped pressure and found Kendrick Bourne wide open after the corner in coverage  fell down.  The 2 connected again on the 2 point conversion to tie the game. Beathard lead two more scoring drives to complete the come back and end his day going  7/11 for 101 yards 2 TDs he was sacked twice and had a 133.0 QBR. I look forward to seeing how Beathard progresses this week. There are so many other things that I could get into but I that these were some of the most important.

Thank you for reading my blog please make sure to like NINER FAITHFUL RADIO on Facebook and Tune in every Monday at 3pm PST Here’s the link for This Monday Aug 21st http://tobtr.com/10210625

Published by

eddynyg

You want to know about me? Well I’m 28 love sports, techie, somewhat of a nerd you know! I was born and raised in New Haven, CT. I left for the Navy at 18 and became an Intelligence Analyst for 5 years. Now, I'm System Administrator for a computer science company and working with technology which is my passion. I love sports, football over everything, #NYG4L, but Basketball is my second love, Go Celtics! I am boxing and MMA fan as well. My hobbies are reading and writing about sports as well as learning new and exciting technologies. That's enough about me go check out my blogs as well as some of my teams blogs on our sportselite1.wordpress.com page!

Leave a Reply

