Open Letter to the Pittsburgh Penguins 

By Kim Dunning

Dear Pittsburgh Penguins:

Congratulations on your Stanley Cup win for the 2015-2016 NHL season but most importantly, thank you for making me fall in love all over again with hockey.

You see this past year hasn’t been the easiest year for me. In November, I lost my father and then in February my sons great gramma passed away. During the NHL playoffs, watching you play became a distraction for me. While in the midst of the playoffs, I lost my best friend and my 17 year old dog passed away.  I continued to use hockey as a distraction. Something I haven’t done in over 5 years, except for the playoffs.

Low and behold you continued to win games and series. My distraction became my passion again! I feel in love with old friends from previous years and made some new friends this year.  The way you played as a family and the heart and soul you showed throughout the playoffs, brought me to the realization that if you, who had all the odds stacked against you, could go to the Stanley Cup Final, I too could find that kind of strength in my everyday life to deal with all the grief live threw at me.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for showing me that even though everyone doubted you and called you the underdog that with strength and a good support network, you can make it and prove everyone wrong!  Thank you for bringing back the love of the classiest sport ever! Thank you for bringing me and hockey and you guys back together!

Again congratulations on the Stanley Cup and I look forward to seeing you on October 12!

 

Sincerely,

A Fan Who Needed You and You Were There

Published by

kdunning79

Stay Out of My Crease is a hockey radio show that airs on Radio AFS every Tuesday Night at 9pm EST/6pm PST. We are a hockey show for hockey fans by hockey fans. We talk all topics hockey related. We cater to NHL, CHL, NWHL, NCAA Men's and Women's hockey. Please join us at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/radioafs and search up Stay Out of My Crease.

One thought on “Open Letter to the Pittsburgh Penguins ”

Leave a Reply

